Facebook Snooze makes Temporary 30 Day silencing Possible!

We knew that Facebook has been testing the snooze option for some months now. The snooze option works simply. If you don't like the Facebook shares of a particular person, group or page, all you have to do is select the "Snooze or Unfollow" option from a dropdown menu besides the post. What makes snooze different from Unfollow is that it just mutes the shares from that Facebook user. It doesn't unfollow the Facebook user. It's much like the Twitter Mute feature, which silences an obnoxious tweeter from your timeline. Now Facebook is reported to have refined its "Snooze" option. Instead of permanently snoozing a Facebook user on Facebook , you can silent him/her, get away from him/her for 30 days. Once done, no shares, Likes from that person will feature on your timeline for the next 30 days. You can extend the snooze period from time to time.

Temporarily muting a Facebook user may prove to be a useful feature.

With so much noice on social networks, a snooze or mute feature in any social network seems quite useful. Although it might be designed keeping in Facebook marketers in mind who may need to pay attention to a certain news at any point of time, the option seems to be useful for ordinary Facebook users as well. There are certain times when one needs to snooze (keep silent/ make distance) from an annoying Facebook Friends. Such occasions can be when someone is looking for a new job, is one vacations or is spending quality time with near and dear ones.


The options such Facebook Snooze or Twitter Mute are better features than Unfriending. As Unfriending someone might not go well with the other person. But if you're a political figure or a Leader you must not follow someone whose behavior you don't approve of.

This is how Facebook defines its Facebook Snooze:

“We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it,” noted Facebook product manager Shruthi Muraleedharan, in a blog post. “With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end, and the setting can also be reversed at any time.”

No comments